Cannot extrude an irregular edited shape

Hi there.

I’m new to umake, however I have experience in 3D design.
I’m trying to create a replica of a car badge, which is very irregular. My approach was to create a shape using splines (either by precision or sketching) , I close the shape but the autosurface seems not to be aware of that. I then assumed that the shape wasn’t probably correctly closed. I started over, making sure that every point connects to the next. No way, I’m missing something or the program is not doing what’s expected.
In my third attempt, I draw a sketch in one single trace, as close to the final shape as I could. This time, the surface was completed and it turned to blue in color. Okay, I finished it then by touching the green button. I spent about 20 minutes editing the shape to make it fit to the image I had in a lower layer. Then I tried to extrude the shape into a volume. The only thing I could extrude is the border line, no chance to extrude it into a volume. I’m not sure if that’s is actually possible? Watching the videos I only can see that the extrusion process seems to work only with shapes made of one single trace, but I didn’t find a tutorial where you edit the shape and then make that it into a volume by extrusion. For example, say that you draw the shape of a dog. Then you edit the shape to make it look more like a dog. Then you extrude that shape pretending to give the dog a volume, then you discover that only the shape is extruded , not the surface, leaving kinda a box with the shape of a dog. Am I doing wrong or is it a missing feature? I don’t discard I misunderstood the procedure. Is there a trick to make the edited shape extrudable as a volume?. Thanks.

Hi @alexmake

Thank you for contacting us here!

Would it be possible for you to upload a screenshot of your creation? Maybe even attaching the original .UMK file?